nukeSEO.com - PHPNuke SEO Search engine optimization, professional tools including nukeSEO, nukeSPAM, nukeFEED, nukePIE, nukeWYSIWYG and more

 

. Welcome to nukeSEO.com  ! 
.
.
.

Tag This



.
nukeSEO.com: Forums


 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

clueTip
 
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    nukeSEO.com Forum Index -> General / Other Stuff
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
spasticdonkey
webmaster


Joined: Oct 26, 2007
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Wed Jun 10, 2009 10:31 am    Post subject: clueTip Reply with quote

I saw you mentioned clueTip recently as a possible replacement to boxover, so though I would post some feedback.. Very cool, lots of features, have had some fun playing around with it. Smile

As far as getting it up and running /styled, not quite as easy as boxover, and if you want it to play nicely with other content created or manipulated by JS you'll need to setup event listeners; which is not for the JS novice.

Also discovered it doesn't work in Google chrome, it only displays the first clueTip on the page and ignores all others. Sad

So in my opinion, I like it, I will use it, but would also like to see boxover stick around too...
  
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
kguske
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: May 12, 2005
Posts: 875

PostPosted: Wed Jun 10, 2009 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the feedback. One of the reasons I looked for clueTip is that Boxover doesn't play well with ColorBox on IE 6... Maybe we'll use both and make it configured - which do wish to use.
_________________
  
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Palbin
webmaster


Joined: Nov 28, 2007
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well hopefully we get it set up to inlcude js on the module level etc. for the next release. Wink
  
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spasticdonkey
PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Maybe we'll use both and make it configured - which do wish to use.

that would be nice Smile even better (for me at least) would be to allow a config to include other lightbox/modal scripts a webmaster may have installed.. So for instance, if you use shadowbox you can edit a couple variables, something like:
Code:
$LinkMode = "rel=\"shadowbox\" title=\"WebLink submitted by $username\"";

$ImgMode = "rel=\"shadowbox[shoutbox]\" title=\"Image submitted by $username\"";


or highslide
Code:
$LinkMode = "class=\"highslide\" onclick="return hs.htmlExpand(this, { objectType: 'iframe', width: 500 } )" title=\"WebLink submitted by $username\"";

$ImgMode = "class=\"highslide\" onclick=\"return hs.expand(this)\" title=\"Image submitted by $username\"";


a basic example but i think you get what I'm saying Smile Maybe call it an easy to configure bridge for modal/lightbox scripts? Ya, I know, easier said than done... but my two cents anyway.. btw, I tried to use single quotes in my example but was filtered Embarassed lol

Quote:
Well hopefully we get it set up to inlcude js on the module level etc. for the next release.
sweet, very curious to see the RN approach on that Smile
  
Back to top
Guardian
webmaster


Joined: Dec 25, 2005
Posts: 364
Location: Vsetin, Czech Republic

PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2009 4:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know the RN Team has not settled on an approach for including modular level JS and CSS etc but one approach that is being looked at would allow you to declare up front in your modules any number of files you want to 'include' for that module whose data you need to set inside the final rendered page pages HEAD tags. The files could be JS, CSS stylesheets or even configuration override options like in your example above where you might want to override a default value for $LinkMode.
_________________
Only registered users can see links on this board! Get registered or login!
  
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spasticdonkey
PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2009 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

btw i did some more playing with clueTip and found it works just fine in chrome (at least the features I used).
The problem seems to be with the clueTip demo page, or some feature of clueTip that is used there. Just thought you might want the heads up... If i figure out the specific culprit I'll let you know. Smile
  
Back to top
kguske
PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2009 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, spasticdonkey! Your feedback and input are most welcome and appreciated!
  
Back to top
spasticdonkey
PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2009 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ah ha! i figured it out, it's when the hoverintent plugin is used... remove that and chrome does fine. Cool in concept, but I actually found it to be laggy when hoverintent was running anyway. BTW, the checkbox option in clueTip is awesome, giving users ability to turn on/off designated tooltips. I'm working on something using it, and a bunch of other jquery... so I'll post a demo link when I get a little farther.
  
Back to top
Display posts from previous:       
Post new topic   Reply to topic    nukeSEO.com Forum Index -> General / Other Stuff All times are GMT - 5 Hours
 
 Page 1 of 1

 

Jump to:   
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum

Powered by phpBB © 2001-2008 phpBB Group


Page Generation: 0.05 Seconds